top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureexmultifaceted

Situational Awareness


Image Credit: Boston Globe

In threatening situations, there are essential things to do:

1. Take cover and protect yourself

2. Gather information

3. Formulate a strategy to escape or protect yourself.

4. Take appropriate action to fight or flee.

In Iraq and Afghanistan, I found no shortage of threatening situations. Traveling between towns and cities in convoys, armed security personnel were always - and I mean always - on the alert. Road blocks put up by local militias always posed a cause for concern and heightened awareness. The danger of getting separated from the chase car was compounded by a lack of availability of radio communication.

In town, neighbors across the street could pose a threat. Sectarian conflicts would result in unexpected urban combat, and at times, I found myself ducking for cover as gunfire and explosions erupted just across the street from my office.

The instinct to run is strong. Having situational awareness in hazardous locations is absolutely critical to help keep your mind clear. Gathering actionable information that might keep you from getting killed is not possible if you are in panic mode . On more than one occasion, I've found myself on a roof with my head way down, looking for information that would lead to escape and safety.

Learn to overcome fear before conflict arises, and you will be more likely to put into motion the actions that will protect you.

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page